Gettin Down and Dirty

24 Feb

Got your attention, huh?

It’s hard to believe that under this….

Was THIS!

It’s amazing to see how drastically trends change, as I think in 1955 when our house was built, pink carpet was all the rage.

Ok, so it wasn’t as simple as remove the carpet and “tah dah”, gorgeous floors!  Tony spend many many MANY hours working magic on these floors, and so I thought I’d share a little about the process.

Introducing the first official HFoP interview!  Today’s interview is with my husband (a.k.a. Tony the floor man) who has agreed to shed some light on the floor finishing experience.

JH: Tony, thanks so much for participating in HFoP’s first official interview.  Not like you had much of a choice in the matter 😉 
TH: Happy to be here!

JH: Ok first thing’s first… Have you always been this good looking?
TH: Haha

JH:  Sorry, couldn’t resist.  Ok back to the interview….What materials are needed for this project?
TH: I used the following items.  (Click image for source)

1. Mineral Spirits

2. Restore-a-finish

3. Johnson’s Paste Wax

4. Floor Buffer (courtesy of grandma and grandpa Hopf – thanks guys!!!)

5. White wiping Cloths

6. Lot’s of elbow grease!!!

JH: Are these materials pretty typical for finishing floors or are there other approaches?

TH: There are other ways to do it but I went with this particular approach because I didn’t want to have a chemical stripper come in and strip off the previous wax.  There is always a chance the wax could still be in the floor and when polyurethane is applied it might not harden all the way.

JH: Ok so now tell us about the process.
TH: First I did a very thorough sweep and clean of the floors using mineral spirits.  I would clean a section, wipe up the excess, and move down the floor.  Then I let it dry.  Next I used the restore-a-finish, applied with a cloth, section at a time.  Again, wipe up any excess, and let it dry.  Next I applied the wax.  I applied it to a small area and wiped in a circular motion with a cloth.  I did the whole floor once, let it dry, did it again, let it dry, and then buffed it with the buffer.

JH: Sounds amazing… Was this one of the most fun projects you’ve ever done?
TH: No!  It was a lot of work, and quite tiring.

JH: But was it worth it?
TH: Aboslutely.

JH: Do anything different/recommendations?
TH: Don’t buff each time you wax.  Do a few coats first, then use the buffer.  Also I recommend Johnsons wax over  Minwax.  I tried both and there was a big difference.  Also, make sure you do research online before, as there is a lot of valuable information out there.  And read reviews!

JH: Have you recovered from all of the floor chemical fumes?
TH: I’m getting there…

2 Responses to “Gettin Down and Dirty”

  1. Domestocrat February 24, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Great post!!!!
    My childhood home was full of pink and baby blue carpets. What in the world kind of trends were those?!

  2. cindy February 24, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Love the interview!
    Floor looks great. Totally worth all the work! Looking forward to seeing it in person 🙂

Leave a Reply

