Costa Rica Love

9 Jan

Hello and Happy New Year!  I hope you all had wonderful holidays and hopefully some time off from work to enjoy the New Year.  I had a particularly nice break, as Tony and I spent 9 days in Costa Rica.  All I can say is WOW.  The country was incredible… It was beyond beautiful, the people were some of the nicest and most gracious I have met while traveling, and there was just so much to see and do.  Now I won’t go into too much detail here, but I couldn’t wait to share with you one of the hotels we stayed in because it was an HFoP dream!!!

The first part of our trip was spent in Playa Samara, which is on the Pacific coast in the Guanacaste region.

We stayed at the Samara Tree House Inn, which was too cool not to share with you.  Now this is not your typical hotel, even in Costa Rica, because your room is on stilts!!  

Samara Tree House Inn

The “apartment” is about 30 feet from the ocean, and the open front allowed us to wake up to the ocean breeze and waves each morning.  As they say in Costa Rica… Pura Vida!!! (Pure Life)

The structures are all made of teak, which is a tropical wood that is grown in the area.

Then below the apartment is your own private patio, with a table for eating, a grill, and 2 of these babies…

I never realized how comfortable and relaxing a hammock was until I was laying in one on the beach, with my kindle, and a pina colada.  HEAVEN.

All in all it was a fabulous trip, and it gave me some time to relax and regenerate for 2012.  If anyone has plans to head to Costa Rica (which I can’t recommend enough) I’m always happy to share more information.

But for now, it’s back to all things home related….  And I have some very exciting news coming up, so stay tuned!

4 Responses to “Costa Rica Love”

  1. Domestocrat January 9, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    I’ve been dying to go to Costa Rica and may need to pick your brain! So glad you guys had a blast!

  2. caryn January 9, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    welcome back! this place looks amazing… you and tony sure deserved it! cant wait to hear more about your trip! xo.

  3. Rachel January 12, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    This looks beautiful! We’re thinking about going to Costa Rica on our honeymoon. Id love more
    info, like the name of the hotel you stayed at and any other recommendations. Thanks so much, Rachel

Leave a Reply

