Home.

7 Nov

Tony and I have been keeping an eye out for real estate in our area, in hopes to eventually move from renter to home owner status.  And for someone who loves all things home related, I thought the search would be so much fun!!!  But I can’t lie…I have had a few mini meltdowns during the process.

  I’ve heard buying a home can be one of the most anxiety provoking and stressful events one can endure (eek!) and so I’ve been diligently working on coming up with coping mechanisms that don’t all involve a bottle of red wine.

Well I was reminded of our wedding a few months ago, and it started to put things into perspective.

Tony and I got married under a Chuppah, which is a traditional wedding canopy.  His dad built it for us, so it was incredibly special.  I will never forget the Rabbi who married us explaining the symbolism of the Chuppah to our guests and defined it as a structure that represents the new couple’s home.  It has four open walls, so that family and friends are always welcome to come inside.  And it is a structure that can easily come down, because your home is not about being a permanent structure, but rather a place that moves, changes and adapts with the people inside of it.  It’s the people inside that make a house a home,  and that really meant a lot to me.

I recently came across this quote which I think sums this up quite nicely, and something I plan to come back to when I feel overwhelmed.

“Home is any four walls that enclose the right person.”
–Helen Rowland

2 Responses to “Home.”

  1. cindy November 7, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Beautiful post Jenny!

  2. Domestocrat November 7, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    So true. Also another quote I love “As long as you are here with me this will feel like home.” We have the print hanging it our house actually: http://www.etsy.com/listing/28555944/home-fine-art-print-large

    But, hang in there. It’s a LONG road and is very frustrating. Just like a husband though, you’ll know. It will feel right. I know it sounds cheesy but that’s how I felt 🙂

Leave a Reply

