The Cleanse.

28 Sep

Disclaimer:  I am putting this in writing on the oh-so-public blogosphere so that I can be held fully accountable for what I’m about to promise.

Are You Ready????

The back story:

For the past couple of weeks I have been feeling oddly bogged down. At first I blamed stress from my job and a lack of a good night sleep (damn you Law and Order for being on every weeknight at 11pm!).  But after some careful consideration I realized that this burdensome feeling would surmount every time I would enter my closet.  I had an “ah ha” moment as I realized that all I do is CONSUME and it’s figuratively weighing me down!

Eureeka!!!

Now don’t get me wrong… I loooooove to shop and I have no intention of cutting that out of my life permanently, however wouldn’t a little hiatus from all things materialistic do everyone some good???

The proposal:

***Go on a “shopping diet” for the month of October.***
This means no new purchases of clothing, shoes, accessories, and (eeek) home goods!!!  And the result is a re-commitment to all of the wonderful things I already own, and quite possibly, a new found appreciation for some of the overlooked items.

The fine print:

The cleanse does not include the purchase of:
1. Food
2. Essential household items
3. Dog items
4. Misc. items I can’t account for or control (like impromptu engagement gift, emergency item, etc… rare but possible!)

The request:

Who is with me???   Misery loves company, right???   But in all seriousness, think of this as a challenge, a money saving effort, and an excuse to be really creative with what you got!

To join “The Cleanse” leave your name in the comments below!

Some inspiration…
One of my favorite blogs Kendi Everyday has a series called 30 on 30 where blogger Kendi chooses 30 items from her closet and “remixes” them for 30 days.  Her reason? Kendi writes “the whole point of the remix is to show myself and readers that with a little bit of creativity, you can make what you have work for you.”

So be thankful I’m not limiting you to only 30 items… I am oh so generous and letting you have your entire closet (your welcome!).

6 Responses to “The Cleanse.”

  1. cindy September 28, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    I’ll join you on this! I’m too busy/broke to spend money on anything extra anyways!!

  2. Cooper September 30, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Can’t do it!!!!!

  3. Joanna H. October 2, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I’m all in for the cleanse (but must request exemption for buying a halloween costume because you know I love halloween)! Today I even busted out a shirt I haven’t worn in over a year…but since it was in the closet (and not in the giveaway pile), it must be worth wearing…and it was! Excellent idea to do this. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. LovEtsy: September « HFoP - September 30, 2011

    […] Don’t you worry, I will NOT be making any purchases this month… Cause hello!!  I’m on the THE CLEANSE! […]

  2. If you can’t shop… « HFoP - October 12, 2011

    […] they translate very well into the fashion world.  So since I’m NOT shopping this month (see The Cleanse) I thought I’d get my fix through a little online window shopping! Jennys Fall Wishlist by […]

  3. The Cleanse has Closed « HFoP - November 1, 2011

    […] (What’s The Cleanse, you say?  Read about it HERE!) […]

Leave a comment