The Home Economics Debate

24 Sep

There was an interesting op-ed in the New York Times by Helen Zoe Veit about the history (and push for revival) of the home economics course.
Full article
here.

While it may be obvious from my blog that I enjoy doing things around the house (minus dusting…I do NOT dust!), I have so many needs improvement areas, including but not limited to…Ironing, Taking care of plants, Doing a “thorough” clean, Sewing, Following a difficult recipe (ok that one may be due to my limited attention span) etc…

And I firmly believe that in my life today, I would benefit so much more from having learned these skills over my torturous 5 years of studying Latin.  Agricola means farmer.  That’s all I got.

But what do you think? 

Did you take Home Economics? 

And if so, was it worth it?

5 Responses to “The Home Economics Debate”

  1. Donna September 24, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    I did…. and loved it! But of course all the “girls” in my generation did. Showing my age, huh?

  2. cindy September 24, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Taking care of plants. hahahaha Love ya Jenny! I took it too, but I ended up teaching my teacher a lot, at least in the cooking department.

    Just go down the Cape and spend a day with Grandma and you’ll learn more than any home ec teacher can teach you 🙂 Promise.

  3. alexis September 25, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    Obviously i didn’t because we sat together in many classes at Latin. I see a link between the lack of home ec and how our generation runs a household. we set a budget only because I am frugal. But when we joke around with our friends about stupid squabbles over it, they are amazed that we do actually have a household budget for the month/week. I think its also part of why we are the take out generation. Both of us work, we try and cook but more often than not there is just not enough time. Both of my parents worked, but did so for themselves so it was more flexible. As someone who works in the banking industry it makes me wonder if there is a link between this and the lack of financial planning since those courses weren’t just about cooking and housework.

    • hfopblog September 28, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      So interesting and so very true. Thanks for sharing Alexis!

    • hfopblog September 28, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Hehe. I need to schedule an appointment 🙂

Leave a Reply

