Wedding DIY: Monograms

11 Aug

Wedding DIY #1: Monograms

Early on in the wedding planning process I decided I wanted to create a monogram in our color scheme, in order to tie most of the DIY paper elements I was making, together.  I  didn’t want everything to be super “matchy matchy” so decided that a simple monogram would be a nice consistent element, without going overboard.

So off I went to work in Microsoft Publisher only to feel totally defeated by how limited the design choices were… and no way was I about to drop the big bucks on Photoshop! Well low and behold, I was able to find a ton of free, yes I said FREE, and customizable monograms right here on the internet!

World Wide Web, I love you…

One of my favorite sites I came across was called Weddingchicks.com, where they let you customize both the words and colors of an assortment of monograms!  Some of my favorites include:

Check them all out HERE!

In keeping with our yellow and gray theme, I went with this cutey-petutey:

And I found a similar, but not identical stamp from The Paper-Source for $7, that I thought complimented the monogram.  FYI – Stamp is not red.

Fun huh?  Well that’s great Jenny, but where can I use all of these pretty things?  Well I used them on our welcome hotel bag letters, ceremony programs, and menus (future posts on all of these to come!) but don’t feel limited to wedding decor.  You could totally use these to design your own stationary, letterhead, return address stickers, labels, etc…  Hey, plaster your whole house while you’re at it!

Ok, don’t do that.

{So it’s challenge time!}

Go on and create your own monogram and report back!

5 Responses to “Wedding DIY: Monograms”

  1. Domestocrat August 15, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    I wish I had known! I have a copy of Photoshop you could have installed. It’s an old version but I use it for EVERYTHING. Let me know if you’re interested at all still.

  2. Stephanie Nizewitz August 17, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Playing on the wedding chicks website right now and I love it!! My first project is save the dates…any chance you will have a post on how you did yours? 🙂 And congrats on the wedding!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wedding DIY Wrap Up « HFoP - August 29, 2011

    […] #1: Monograms   #2: Card Stock   […]

Leave a Reply

