Project: Printer Tray

19 Jul

Morning friends!

So some of you may remember that one of my fantastic purchases at the Brimfield fair was this antique Printer’s Tray.

Well over the past few weeks I’ve been plugging away at a makeover!

After going back and forth on color, I finally settled on Krylon Satin Jade from Home Depot.  Initially I wanted to go totally turquoise, but since I wasn’t sure where we’d hang the piece, I toned it down a bit with this pretty color.

With the shopping was done, it was time to get to work! 

First, I taped over the top portion of the printer tray, because I wanted to preserve the silver detailing.  It was really easy using 3M painters tape:

 

Then, with the help of my lovely assistant/fiance/painting expert…. We sprayed the hell out of the printer tray.  It took almost two cans to cover, but well worth it at just $4/pop for the paint.

 

After letting the tray dry for a full day, it was time to add the letters:

image

image

Using a hot glue gun, I tried to glue them on as “randomly” as possible.

And the final product?

Before:

 

After:

image

I just love the idea of collecting items from our travels or just special places in general.  So my plan is to use this as a collection storage piece, picking up small trinkets from various places, and adding them to the empty boxes.  It becomes an ever-evolving piece of wall art, and a great conversation piece!

Now it’s just a matter of finding some free wall space to hang it!

{Project Complete!}

6 Responses to “Project: Printer Tray”

  1. Joanna H July 19, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    Will the mini-lobster from Portland go in there? Love this project!! 🙂

    • Jenny's HFoP July 19, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

      Of course! It is the first collector piece!!

    • Caryn July 26, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

      i was JUUUST about to comment on that mini lobster!!

  2. Domestocrat July 19, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    I love it!

  3. ellie July 24, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    pretty sure i’m going to add a printer’s tray to my boyfriend’s list of things to look for when he’s at estate auctions. i love your take on it! it’s a much cooler version of a curio cabinet. great idea – thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

