Teach me Tuesday: Code Flags

7 Jun

Morning friends!

Just taking a quick detour from our Outside Pride journey to squeeze in a little “teach me tuesday” this week.

So todays post is not really a “design” teaching moment…but hear me out 🙂

The International Ship and Port Facility Security (ISPSCode is an amendment to the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) Convention (1974/1988) on minimum security arrangements for shipsports and government agencies. Having come into force in 2004, it prescribes responsibilities to governments, shipping companies, shipboard personnel, and port/facility personnel to “detect security threats and take preventative measures against security incidents affecting ships or port facilities used in international trade.”

Wikipedia

Yes, I know this is VERY important information here – but why on earth am I writing about it on a blog dedicated to home decor?

Oh I’m so glad you asked!

So I was looking for a fun bus scroll to hang in our apartment, and turned to (where else) Etsy for ideas.  Am I too predicable?  Well I love the bus scroll trend right now…


Transit Design 

…but wanted something a little more off beat for our home.  Well after some hard core searching I came across this fabulous Etsy shop based out of Sydney, Australia called Bexpert, and I fell in love!  This very creative lady turned the International Security Code Flags (see above if you got bored and skipped over the wordy wiki definition) into some pretty funky artwork!

Bexpert @ Etsy 

Brilliant, huh??  And for only $15 a piece, I had to have 2!  One J and one T.  I’ll let you smarties guess why….

Now I debated where to put them, and I kept coming back to the bathroom.  Was it because there is an abundance of water in there? Or because the very small space kinda makes you feel like you’re in a ship’s bunker?  I’ll never know the reason for the calling… however I absolutely LOVE them there!

Check it out!

 

The shop also sells antique versions of the flag, as well as some cute prints:

 

 

And my final plug… the seller Beck Williams was super nice, got back to me with answers to my questions right away, and the shipping was really fast – even coming from the other side of the world!!  Two thumbs up from this girl!

{All Aboard!}

5 Responses to “Teach me Tuesday: Code Flags”

  1. Jackie June 7, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    I love what you did with those in the bathroom! What did you use to frame/mount the code flag?

  2. Jenny's HFoP June 7, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Thanks Jackie!!

    And I am so glad you asked about the frames because they were each only 6.99 at the Christmas Tree Shop with the mat board included!!! The flags are printed on nice paper, so it’s as simple as taping them to the back of the mat board.

  3. Domestocrat June 7, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Very cool! There was so much maritime ephemera like this in Oregon, I loved it!

  4. Meghan @ My Wishful Thinking June 7, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Ok, I have fallen completely in love with these prints! What a fantastic find!

  5. Liz June 7, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Love the prints, and they are perfect for the bathroom! I love nautical bathrooms, its perfect for the small space without being over the top!

Leave a Reply

