My New Buffet

1 Jun

I’m SUPER excited to share with you my newest home purchase…  And not sure what I’m more excited about – the piece or the price tag!!!

Ok, I’m getting ahead of myself here.  Let’s start with a little back story…

So I’ve been on a major hunt for some type of storage piece for our dining room.  We have a decent sized room with a free wall – and a growing collection of kitchen items (thank you wedding registry!).  Well I started with my usual online shopping (for inspiration) and decided to limit the search to “sideboards”and “buffets”.  I also wanted something in a light color to brighten up the dark wood trimming in our dining room… and per usual, I was leaning towards something a bit antiquy looking, ideally something in a shabby chic style.

Here’s the idea…

Newport Avenue Antiques

Wisteria

Royal Oak Cottage

Restoration Hardware

But OMG these things are expensive!!  Like ranging from $500-$4000!  NO THANK YOU!

So of course, I turned to my trusty friend Craig (www.craigslist.com) to see if I could find something used and local.  Now normally I could be searching anywhere from a week to a few months – looking for what I like to call the “Craigslist Trifecta”:

Craigslist Trifecta:

  1. Perfect item is listed WITH photo
  2. Price is great
  3. Location is under 20 miles from where I live

Well low and behold, after only a few days of searching – I FOUND IT!!!!

  1. Light yellow colored shabby chic sideboard, with perfect dimensions
  2. $95 cash
  3. 2.5 miles down the street

For tips on shopping on Craigslist click HERE!

So I recruited my muscle – huge thanks to Tony and and my brother Joe for braving the 3 story walk up!!!

And in less than an hour, this beauty had a new home in our dining room.

Come take a look!

I just loved the detailing.

And I’m a sucker for fun knobs.

Hello storage!

Here you can get a sense of the layout…  This piece could not have fit better!

Perfect place to put my new indoor plants that I will keep alive for a least 1 month!

And the wine rack I bought at Brimfield, that I will keep full for at least 1 week 😉

So what do you think?

{Anyone else got a rockin Craigslist purchase to share?}

3 Responses to “My New Buffet”

  1. Domestocrat June 1, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Love it! I wish we had more room for a piece like this!

  2. Liz June 1, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    It looks so good! perfect for the space. I am so excited for you and this steal you got!!!

Leave a Reply

