Fabric Frame Project

26 May

So our bedroom needs some major assistance.  It’s one of the rooms in the house that few people see, and so I guess it’s taken a bit of a decorating back seat!  In addition to desperately needing a headboard (oh the search has begun) we needed something pretty to hang above our bed.  Of course, I wanted something original but not super costly.  Oh, don’t we all 🙂

Result?  “Do It Yourself” I say!

So I was totally inspired by these fabric framed photos I found while perusing Pinterest


Suzanne Kasler

Lilly Pulitzer

…and I decided to take on the challenge!  

So here’s a step by step guide to your very own, very original, fabric framed wall art!  

* * * 

 First thing’s first:   Go fabric shopping!
Ok, so fabric.com rocks. They sell  8 x 8 inch “swatches” for $1.75 each, which is killer when you only need a small piece of fabric for your project, and a yard can cost up to $20!  This is a super steal people!

I decided to buy more than I needed so I had some freedom to play around a bit.  Here was my order:

Next find frames.  To keep the cost down, I wanted a frame that came with the mat, and these Sondrum frames from Ikea are only 6.99!  Don’t you just love the little dot detailing???  Makes them stand out a bit!

Now comes the fun part.  This project could take you 30 minutes… unless you live with a perfectionist in which that time might triple 🙂

Make sure all the fabric is totally flat.  Might require a quick ironing job.

To center the fabric, take out the mat and play around.  Make sure you tape it (recommend 3m painters tape so that it doesn’t rip the mat board) so that when you flip it over, you don’t lose the spot.

Once it looks good, flip it, and tape it down to the back of the mat!

Now, put the pieces back into the frame, and lay them out on a table to determine your grid size.

I wanted each of the 6 frames 3 inches apart on all sides, which meant:

Using the grid you created, mark up your wall.  This may require a second set of hands to keep things straight!

And then hang away!!!

Pardon the slight uneveness… We have some little “runners” upstairs that seem to shift things a bit 😉

 

{And you’re done!} 

Once we get a headboard, I might add a 3rd row of frames.  What do you think?

4 Responses to “Fabric Frame Project”

  1. Michele May 26, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Hey Jenny – very impressive! I wanted to send a helpful bit of info on the Pinterest site. I tried to sign up and apparently it gets you on a list and then they contact you to invite you – I think. I got a confirmation that says I’m on a list and they will be in touch. That was a few days ago. So unless I’m missing something maybe it has a waiting list? Thanks so much for the recommendation.

    • Jenny's HFoP May 26, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      Hi Michele,

      Thanks for the info! I joined a while back and got in right away, so my guess is that it’s gaining so much popularity that they now have a wait list. Sounds similar to old school Gmail!

      BUT!!! I just logged in and seem to have 6 free invites, so just sent you one! Hope it helps bypass the wait!

      ~Jenny

      • Michele May 26, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

        Thanks – I’m in! Let the fun begin!

  2. Amorie August 9, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    I like your idea, and I love the fabric you used, but I think the frames are a little too small for the area you are working with. If you want the small frame look though, it would work well with another two frames so you have four accross, and with the frames hanging about a foot lower- only a couple of inches above your new headboard, when that goes in.

    You have a lot of fun stuff on your blog, I’ll have to check back again.
    Happy Prettying!

    Amorie

Leave a Reply

