The end of an era…

19 May

Today I turn 29!!!

A few months ago I thought that reaching the last year of my 20’s would result in a slight depression, that only a large amount of wine could temporarily cure…

But you know what?  I couldn’t be happier!  Bring it on, 29!!!

Today I reflect back on the last 10 years and vow to live out my last year as a “20 something” in style.  I’ve spent the past few weeks remeniscing about how much I have grown, learned, and all that I have accomplished, and well…it’s been a damn good decade.  A few things that come to mind…

I graduated from college
I studied in Italy
I sang in an a capella group
I got my first real job
I learned to drive stick
I got the chance to live with some of my closest girlfriends
We threw some pretty awesome parties 🙂
I bought a car
I learned to cook
I contributed to a 401k
I moved in with a boy
I lived in a city and on a farm
I went to grad school
I finished grad school!
I visited South Africa
I landed a fantastic job
I met the love of my life

And I started a blog!

Now of course it wasn’t always easy.  I had my heart broken, I fell out of touch with some friends, I was unemployed, I lost 3 grandparents and a dear friend… but I also became a part of a new family, gained a whole new respect for my incredible parents, got an amazing dog and soon to be husband.
***
So no matter what your age is, I challenge you to take a moment and think back about your own ‘past decade’ and the incredible things that came with it.  Dare I say it…make a list!  And on those rainy, I feel fat, I feel old and I’m super tired days… read it.  Because with every year comes wisdom, adventure, experience, and growth…And that’s something worth remembering!

{What’s one thing YOU’RE proud of this year?}
Comment below!

3 Responses to “The end of an era…”

  1. Joanna H May 19, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    I am proud that we became neighbors at last!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! 🙂

  2. Rachel R May 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    This post just really inspired me. On my list is — maintained some of the most important friendships in my life — people who are like family. 🙂 We may not talk as often as we would like, but when we get together, it’s like time never passed.

    Love you and proud of you. And what a great idea.

  3. Donna May 19, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Amazing reflection of your past decade. The celebrations, losses, growth, and fun. Most folks could never sum it up like that. Wishing your next decade to be even better!!!!

Leave a Reply

