Now that’s annoying.

4 May

As I maaaay have told you one or two (or twelve) times before… I love Real Simple Magazine (thanks Mom for getting me hooked!). 

 

And so a few months ago, I subscribed to one of their blogs called Adventures in Chaos which is written by Real Simple’s Editor in Chief, Kristin van Ogtrop.  P.S.  Check out her book Just Let me Lie Down.  A funny and easy read…I finished it in one day!  

So last week Kristin referenced an article in the New York Times that talked about why certain things annoy some people but don’t annoy others.  To read the full article, click HERE.  She then decided to share her own list of little annoyances, of which 50% were related to her home. 

And?  I LOVED IT!  

Not only was it great to see that I’m not alone in my seemingly parochial annoyances… but she also listed things that I couldn’t care LESS about, making me feel less like the intolerable, impatient, organized freak that I sometimes can be!

So I decided to create my own list of my little HOME annoyances and hope that in return for sharing, you’ll share some of yours too! Because c’mon, who doesn’t love a good venting session?

Ok here goes… and in no particular order…

1. The Roxy dog dust bunnies that grow and move around the house like tumbleweed.
These fun little additions to our home like to party together, and in the most highly trafficked areas.  I’m baffled.

2. A dripping wet bathroom sink.
Why do boys feel the need to flood the bathroom every morning?  What is REALLY going on in there???

3. Wet towels on the bed.
I love you Tony… and appreciate your dedication towards resolving this matter 🙂

4. Pictures hung crooked.
I will admit, my impatience and lack of a good level have caused me to be the culprit of this annoyance…

5. Clothes on the floor.
Now this one’s ok if it’s on a weekend morning, and the night before was a late one out with friends 😉

6. The bathroom light left on.
The annoyance doubles here if the light also has a bathroom fan attached.

7. When one function on the TV is on (but there is no picture).
This one is hard to explain, but I think you know what I’m talking about!  It’s just you and the dogs that can hear it, but it’s there!

8. An overflowing recycling bin.
Do we really eat that much yogurt a week? But yay for recycling!

9. An unmade bed.
I can’t start my day without attending to this… It almost trumps my morning coffee.

10. Piles of unopened mail.
Especially the junk mail that tends to pile up on my fiance’s desk.  How many credit cards are you REALLY gonna open?

Ok, enough about me!  I know your list has been growing as you read…So what gets YOU? 

{Tell us by leaving your comment below!}

4 Responses to “Now that’s annoying.”

  1. Lizzy May 4, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Love the list Jenny ….although I am to blame for some of those. Dave always leaves his clothes on the floor right next to the hamper! Drives me insane. And the sink thing
    …seriously what are they doing?!

  2. Domestocrat May 4, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    I have like the SAME list for home annoyances. Notice how many of these are spouse related?? LOL. Others include beard clippings all over the sink, dishes left in the sink overnight, not keeping the windows open a crack (I do this all winter too, I need fresh air!), accumulating piles of dry cleaning, soggy kitty toys all over the house (Reggie drowns his toys before he plays with them *shrug*), and when the freezer pops open a crack because it’s too overloaded. WHEW!

    • Jenny's HFoP May 4, 2011 at 9:29 am #

      Love it, ladies!! And I totally agree. Cohabitation, while awesome, doesn’t always come easy!! Keep ’em coming!

  3. Katie May 5, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    Love this post. #2 is the worst!! I thought it was just me who dealt with a wet bathroom sink. And I have to agree with the Domestocrat on the freezer door popping open.

Leave a Reply

