Not your Grandma’s China

25 Feb
I’ve been on a real kitchen decor kick lately.  I find as I get older, I spend more time in this room, and less time in the living room (watching crappy reality TV), so I figure – why not spruce up the place I spend most of my time?

So today’s post is all about dishes.  And I’m not talking about Grandma’s dainty china here.  I’m talking about those every day dishes that you can use not only to heat up your lean cuisine “I’m gonna eat you while watching The Bachelor” meal, but also the ones with which you can serve your loving dinner guests.  Yes people…dishes can be functional AND beautiful!

Let’s start with a few basic tips when buying:
  1. Consider buying a few place settings more than you’ll need in order to prepare for a replacement or two down the road.
  2. Make sure the set is dishwasher and microwave safe!!!  Let’s get real people.
  3. When choosing a color pallet, don’t forget to take into consideration the rest of your table linens (placemats, napkins, tablecloth, etc…).  The last thing you want to do is buy a gorgeous set of dishes and then freak out when it’s time to actually set the table.
  4. HAVE FUN!  Tableware is a great way to spruce up your kitchen or dining room, or add an element of fun to a party… so don’t be afraid to think a little outside of the box.  This is especially true if you’re feeling like your kitchen needs a makeover, but you don’t have the funds for a paint job or major demo.

So now that you’re ready to buy… let’s get inspired!

Mix & Match Sets

I absolutely LOVE these!!  If it weren’t for the hefty price tag, I would be eating my Cheerios in this flea market inspired bowl right now….

CP04024.jpg

AtWestEnd

Anthropologie

Pier1

Love this look, but can’t afford an entire new set?  If you have solid color dishes, try starting with JUST a set of mix/match bowls!

MixMatchBowls
1, 3, & 6 Anthropologie

2. CrateandBarrel
4. Brooklyn Mercantile
5. YLiving

Colorful Solids

Simple, yet elegant.

Pottery Barn

Pier1

Macys

Wonderful Whites

White dishes are very popular right now, and they take the guess work out of matching!

I love these shabby chic dishes!!  Did I mention we own them??  🙂

Bed Bath & Beyond

West Elm

Pottery Barn

Pretty Patterns

This takes my love for geometric prints to a whole new level!

ZGallerie

Target


Bloomingdales

Helpful Hint:  Checkout this website Replacements, Ltd. if you need to purchase a hard to find replacement dish to match your current set!

{Now go on and set that table!}

6 Responses to “Not your Grandma’s China”

  1. Js February 25, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Are plastic dishes to tacky???

    • Jenny's HFoP February 25, 2011 at 8:21 am #

      Not necessarily! I wouldn’t recommend plastic for everyday dishes, mainly because of the poorer quality. However they are GREAT for outdoor eating in the summer!

  2. Lizzy February 25, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    This is my kind of post!!! I love the macys blue pattern!!! Jenny check out my give away!

  3. Abbie February 25, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    My parents have plates, bowls etc from D. Lasser Ceramics in Vermont. Each piece is unique and the colors are awesome. Get a set of the same design or mix it up like my parents for a super fun look!! http://www.lasserceramics.com/

  4. Stephanie February 27, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Great post. Along the same lines, what do you think is the best way to organize/store dishes so they are easiest to get to any size? I’ve always stacked, but is there a better way?

Leave a Reply

