Deal Alert: Curtains

18 Jan

Big thanks to reader Katie O. for requesting a post about curtains.  And what good timing she has, because I just had a curtain shopping epiphany!

You know you’re a grown up when you start shopping for curtains.  As a kid, teenager, college student, and even post graduation, I NEVER bought curtains. What’s the point, when your apartment comes with fully functioning (and dust covered) plastic blinds, right?

Well, recently I’ve been on a curtain hunt…guess I’m officially a grown up. However what I found is that these guys, no matter how basic, are expensive!!!   And you have to buy multiple packs!  And don’t even get me started on trying to find a funky pattern for a decent price… NOT happenin.

So while browsing in Target this passed weekend, I came across Ikat shower curtains.  Oh Ikat, how I love you. The curtains were cotton, so they were window treatment looking. And the best part? They were on CLEARANCE!  $7.49 baby!!!!  So obviously I grabbed them and ran to the cash register.

Now this was no doubt a real bargain, but as I drove home I thought “is this too good to be true?”. Well let me tell you… it was NOT.  And I LOOOOOVE them!  See for yourself!

Traditional “in the shower” way….

Target (store for $7.49, online for 14.99)

Jenny’s new “in the office” way!

Everyone makes fun of my miniature desk. Go ahead… have a laugh…but I got my masters at that desk!

From Jenny’s HFoP

Only thing you need to remember with most shower curtains, is that they come with tiny holes.  So don’t forget to pick up some shower hooks!  I got mine at HomeGoods for $5.99!  I actually prefer using hooks because they allow the curtain to slide to the side nicely.

So to sum up, here are the great advantages of using shower curtains:

  1. Less expensive!  Case in point:  This curtain from West Elm goes for $60 (per panel!!)
    West Elm
  2. Traditional size is 72″ wide (as compared to 52″ for regular curtains) so you can often get away with only one panel!
  3. Variety!  Shower curtains come with such a variety of pattens and designs.  Much more variety than your traditional curtains or drapes.

I’ll leave you with some other fantastic shower curtains.  I’m ready to do my whole apartment like this!

Amazon ($10)

A little pricey, but beauiful!  Saffron Marigold

Crate and Barrel

West Elm ($39) See? Much less than the window treatment above!

Similar style, even cheaper! Target ($24)

On sale!  Target ($19.99)

Thanks again Katie for the post request!
{Got more?  Send them over!}

8 Responses to “Deal Alert: Curtains”

  1. lindsay January 18, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Love the crate and barrel shower curtain. I need help convincing Joe this one would look better after we had a bleach accident with our current one!

  2. Linda R. January 18, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Hey Jenny! I was thinking of your blog this weekend because I am still on the hunt for a headboard to go with the new mattress and bed frame I got last summer. Headboards are so expensive! I was looking at DIY options but was wondering if you could work your magic and share ideas.
    Hope all is well!! 🙂

    • Jenny's HFoP January 19, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

      Hey Linda! I’d be happy to! Stay tuned… 🙂

  3. Donna January 18, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    I saw these curtains in “real”….. they are awesome!!!

  4. Katie O' January 18, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Thanks for the post and the shout out! Love this idea!

  5. Zoua January 31, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    I bought the exact same shower curtains and had the same idea for them– using them as window curtains!

    • Jenny's HFoP January 31, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      Great minds think alike!! Feel free to send over a photo to show off the final product! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. House Files: Dining room makeover « HFoP - February 27, 2012

    […] And there was no way I was going to give up my Target Ikat curtains! […]

Leave a Reply

