Liberation through Organization, Part 1.

3 Jan

Ok people, let’s hear those New Years resolutions!  Or rather, let me guess…

  1. Exercise more?  Yeah, I’ve been working on that one since New Years 1999.
  2. Read more “smart” books, watch less “dumb” TV.
  3. Drink more water!
  4. Buy organic.
  5. Be more patient with incompetent people at work.
  6. Find a hobby and stick to it!

Well, unfortunately I can’t provide much assistance with the items mentioned above, as I have tried (and failed) at most of them… however one resolution that I think a lot of people can benefit from, I can help with!  And that is GETTING ORGANIZED!

To me, there is nothing more liberating than that feeling you get after getting rid of clutter, and starting fresh with an organized home…or room…or drawer (why not start small?). So I maaaay have a mild case of OCD (organized compulsive disorder) but I’m gonna work it.

So to start off the New Year, I will be writing a series of posts (interspersed over time) dedicated to staying organized.  And yes, getting organized can be considered a hobby – so go ahead and check #6 off the list above.    Look at that, you’re off to a great start already!

Organized Tip #1:
My best friend, the storage container. 

I cannot say enough about the usefulness of baskets and boxes.  Let’s face it, there are some things like hats & gloves, decks of cards, art supplies, beauty products etc… that no matter how hard you try, cannot stay organized.  Solution? Throw them in a decorative basket!  This keeps similar items together and easy to find, does not require folding, and gives you some decorative freedom!  There are so many types of baskets to buy, but here are a few ideas to get started:

Square from IkeaWoven Baskets

So how can you use them?  I’m glad you asked.

1. Clothing: My fiancé has an overwhelming collection of gym clothes.  He truly believes that he needs all 75 free T-shirts he’s accumulated over the years.  Maybe he wants to glory in the good old days of the “Freshman Engineering Bar Crawl” or brag that he was a member of “Planet Fitness for $10/month”?  Whatever the reason, this is a battle I choose to let go.  Solution?  I got him a huge basket, where he can fold (er…throw) all of this gym clothes and free t-shirts.   It looks great in our bedroom, and I have not destroyed fond memories.  Win win!


The Container Store

2. Hats:  Apparently we’re hat people?  I probably could have neatened this display up a bit before I took a picture (oops!), but I find this storage solution to work great.  Using an empty shelving unit, and lots of different baskets, I have created some order of semblance to our growing collection of headwear.  Bring on the bad hair days…

3. Loose Paper: Unsorted mail, receipts for things you are probably never going to return, coupons, etc….  There are things that even the most well-intentioned person can lose control over. So here’s a solution.  Pick up a few of these, and rather than debate each time over whether you need to keep the item, throw it in the box/basket and once every few months commit to a clean out!


Ikea Target The Container Store

4. Chargers: Between the phones, computers, iPods, cameras, electric razor, electric toothbrush, e-reader… and then the dozen or so chargers you have NO idea where they came from or what they go to, but can’t bring yourself to throw out… these guys drive me NUTS!  So I picked up a plastic shoebox (great because it comes with a cover) at The Container Store, and now I can sleep at night!

Ok, I could go on and on with my storage container obsession… but want to hear from YOU!

{Send me a comment on how you use storage containers to stay sane!}

One Response to “Liberation through Organization, Part 1.”

  1. Domestocrat January 3, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Loved this post Jenny! And LOLing about all the tshirts. I have the same problem in my house too! 😉

Leave a Reply

