Lions and Tigers and Zebras??? Oh my!

14 Dec

I have been on a major animal print kick lately.  And like a lot people, my decorating style is oftentimes influenced by my fashion style.  It started with a hunt for any article of clothing that was in leopard print.  I love mixing blacks and browns, and leopard is a great way to do that!

Animal Fashion

Animal Fashion by Jenny’sHFoP

But when it comes to animal print for home decor purposes, I am really digging the zebra print.

{By the way… I just learned how to “collage” with my image collections.  Seems like everybody in the blog world is “doin it”, so I obviously had to.  I hope you enjoy!}

Love it…

Zebra
From Jenny’s HFoP Image Collection

Light Brown Pillow: Ballard Designs, ($85)
Dark Brown Pillow: DIGS ($98)
Brown: highfashionhome.com, ($2,759)
Black Cowhide: olystudio.com ($?)
Round: CSN rugs ($169)
Ivory/Platinum: West Elm ($99)

Now don’t feel like you’re limited to the “traditional” animal print colors like the neutrals shown above.  Zebra can look GREAT in vibrant colors!
Note:  This can very quickly go from chic to cheap looking, so proceed with caution. 🙂

Zebra Color
From Jenny’s HFoP Image Collection

Orange  Zebra Rug: Piecesinc.com ($1195)
Zebra Knobs:  pbteen.com ($7/each)
Colorful Zebra Pillows: wellappointedhouse.com ($80)
Green Zebra Ice Bucket: animalprintessentials.com ($80)

And we can’t forget about the ultra luxury look of a cow or zebra hide rug.

Cowhide Rugs
From Jenny’s HFoP Image Collection

zebra rug: Prostores.com ($550)
brown and white cow: cowhidesinternational ($199)
white: dwr.com ($880)

I want it…

So a rug of any sort is going to be pricey… but I’ve found that Overstock.com has some great deals!

Black/ Ivory <em>Zebra Rug</em> (5'2 x 7'6) (Ivory Synthetic Fiber)Cowhide Design Rug (5' x 7')

$95 for a 5.2 x 7.6 zebra!
$73 for a 5 x 7 cowhide!


Um, hello Walmart!!!  An 8×10 for $130!  Whaaaat?

Product Image Zebra Square Pillow - Brown/Tan (18x18")

target.com ($22)

Linon 36053NBLK-01-KD Occasional Chair Zebra Print- Black Linon Home Decor 36057ZBR-01-KD-U Zebra Dining Chair, Black

Amazon.com ($150)
Buy.com ($109)

And I’d like to end on my favorite find of the week…

Click here to view larger image

Yeah, that’s right.  It’s a zebra table runner.  I betcha don’t see these often!
zgallerie.com ($80)

{Got some of your own animal instincts?
Show me what you got!}


2 Responses to “Lions and Tigers and Zebras??? Oh my!”

  1. cooper December 14, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    I’ve had some navy zebra throw pillows on my couch for a few years (they go great with my Ikat pillows!!) John Robshaw’s stuff is amazing, here’s the link- I’m pretty sure you will love.

    http://johnrobshaw.com/shop.htm

    • jschweon December 15, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

      HUGE shout out to Cooper, who has an amazing sense of style! Her condo in Southie is full of unique and stylish items… I owe her a visit 🙂 This chick is super creative and a fearless DIYer. Keep an eye out for this lady!

Leave a Reply

