Krazy about Ikat!

4 Dec

Ikat: (pronounced “eee-kaht”) A method of weaving that uses a resist dying process similar to tie-dye on either the warp or weft fibres.  The dye is applied prior to the threads being woven to create the final fabric pattern or design.

So it’s not a new trend by any means, but I’m kind of obsessed with Ikat right now.

I love it…

I personally think Ikat is the coolest in pillow form:

Koko - Java 20x20 Ikat Pillow Ikat Damask Pillow Made By Company C - Decorative Pillows
2modern.com ($100),
accentshopping.com ($145)
designpublic.com ($58)

FJS Pillows Ikat & Floral 1 - Click to enlarge Koko Company Java 18" x 18" Pillow Marrakesh Graphite Pillow

pillowsandthrows.com ($120)
kokocompany.com ($74)
claytongrayhome.com ($125)


It’s an Ikat pillow orgy!  All from tabletonic.com.au ($75-100)

The colorfull Ikat patterns are also great in the kitchen…


http://www.moroccan-decor-furniture.com ($65)
www.anthropologie.com


dandelionsf.com ($36 each)

Or the living room…


urbanoutfitters.com ($325)
anthropologie.com ($198)
I love this!!  Ceylon et Cie ($?? But I’ll bet it’s more than my rent)

Round Ikat Ottoman
vivre.com ($2,100)
www.tenthousandvillages.com ($48)

Ikat Wall Art:

I like these so much, I would totally steal them if I had a bigger purse.


www.NeimanMarcus.com ($550 each)

I want it…

So let’s face it.. this stuff is really fun, but PRI-CEEEEY.  I originally thought about going the Ikat DIY route, but quickly found that the fabric alone is pretty expensive (about $25 – $60/yard).  After factoring in the fabric and pillow insert, it would probably cost the same to purchase a pillow if you could find a good deal!   I’ve done a lot of looking…. I mean A LOT…. but it’s been well worth it because check out some of my cheaper finds to get IKAT ASAP!!

Beautiful Decorative Pillow Cover 18 x 18 INCH - Designer Fabric -  ANIMAL PRINT - Throw Pillow - Accent Pillow - Persimmon NEW Decorative Designer Pillow Cover 20X20 - Duralee Bardo IKAT Print in Red, Taupe, Rust, Navy Blue and Green on an Ivory Background

FREE SHIPPING Red Ikat West Elm Designed Fabric Pillow Cover

Decorative Designer  Pillow Cover - 18X18 - IKAT PRINT, GREY, CHARTREUSE ON NATURAL BACKGROUND

All from www.etsy.com (various design
ers) all under $50!


These babies are only $22!
www.oriental-creations.com ($22)

Here are a ton of covers for under $50!


www.fabricabra.us

I’m sorry, but this is brilliant:


You like?  Believe it or not – these storage boxes were colored with highlighters!  Can it get any cheaper???  
Instructions:http://www.examiner.com/how-to-home-design-in-new-york/how-to-make-ikat-inspired-storage-boxes

And last but not least… tell Nieman Marcus to screw it and get a similar piece for almost 1/7 of the price!  C’mon, you know you deserve it.


Both from www.allposters.com ($79, $49)

{Got more Ikat affordables?  Send them to me!}


2 Responses to “Krazy about Ikat!”

  1. Joanna H. December 4, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    I never knew what Ikat was, but now I can’t get enough! I love the colors and different patterns and am going to check out etsy.com right now for some deals. Also, what a fabulous new blog! I can’t wait to tell all my friends my best friend has such a hidden talent. 🙂 XOXO

  2. Gary December 5, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Great site. Need stuff for men too!

Leave a Reply

